Using Mock and Koji

After successfully building my SRPM from the previous post, I tested the buildrequires with mock.

    yum install mock
    usermod -G mock clchor
    mock -r fedora-14-x86_64 yourSRPM

This took several minutes as I was using a virtual environment. Fortunately, it ran without issues.

The next step was to test the build on another system using Koji. I was following the instructions here: http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/PackageMaintainers/UsingKoji

To summarize the steps:

    yum install fedora-packager
    /usr/bin/fedora-packager-setup

This would prompt you for you FAS account credentials and passphrase for your certificates. After generating the certificates, follow the instructions listed in the above to add the certificate to your firefox browser.

After getting the certificates set up, I proceeded to have koji to use my SRPM to build in a f14 environment. Here is the trouble I ran into last night.

I was running this command under my user account ‘clchor’:

    koji build dist-f14 –scratch yourSRPM

It kept failing with an error message like this:

Error: [(‘SSL routines’, ‘SSL3_READ_BYTES’, ‘sslv3 alert certificate revoked’), (‘SSL routines’, ‘SSL3_READ_BYTES’, ‘ssl handshake failure’)]

I kept thinking that there was something wrong with my certificates and asked people on #seneca channel. They thought the same thing. I even tried to manually download the certificates following the instructions here (http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/PackageMaintainers/UsingKoji). Apparently, this command works only works in my root user account which is quite interesting because the error message made no note of that.

After running the koji command successfully, I can see the build process start on my terminal as well as http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji

This process whole process of running it using koji was only a matter of minutes as the package I used was quite small amd simple.

Initially, I thought that the process was simple and easy to use. But after having the nightmare of getting Koji to work properly, I would like to think otherwise. It was fun talking to some folks on the #seneca channel as well as trying to troubleshoot my steps. I remembered Chris saying not to post large pieces of commands and errors directly in the channel and to use fpaste.org. Good thing I remembered because I’m sure someone would’ve yelled at me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment